Jay Keystone Memorial Award

For Innovation in Scientific Communication

Jay Keystone

Dr. Jay Keystone, an expert in Tropical Medicine and long-time faculty member in the Institute of Medical Science (IMS), is fondly remembered for his skill at communicating complex scientific material. Dr. Keystone taught students about the importance of excellence in scientific communication through the IMS core Seminar Series in Translational Research course, bringing his keen sense of humor to the classroom. His lectures were also cherished by the students in the Summer Undergraduate Research Program, which were also given as part of their seminar series.

In recognition of Dr. Keystone’s contribution to the education of graduate and medical students at the University of Toronto, IMS created the Jay Keystone Memorial Award for Innovation in Scientific Communication. This annual award provides a grant of up to $2,000 to an IMS student(s), supported by a faculty member, to create a new initiative that demonstrates innovation and excellence in the communication of medical science to diverse audiences.

The award is administered through the Student, Staff, Alumni and Faculty Engagement (SAFE) Committee. 

Award Winners

2022: Healthcare Innovation Challenge 

The 2022 recipient of the Jay Keystone Memorial Award is the Healthcare Innovation Challenge, led by Kayvan Aflaki and Serena Peck. Kayvan and Serena are both MSc students and the current IMS Students' Association (IMSSA) Co-Presidents. In this unique initiative, IMS students will utilize their creativity and critical thinking skills to solve a real-world healthcare challenge question developed by clinicians and faculty. In the first stage of the challenge, teams of students will compete through a written proposal. The top 3 scoring teams will advance to the final competition where they will give an oral presentation of their solution to an audience of IMS community members.

Congratulations to Kayvan and Serena! Stay tuned for more details about the Healthcare Innovation Challenge which will be taking place this Spring and Summer.

2021: Youth-of-T Talks

The inaugural winner of the award was the new initiative Youth-of-T Talks. IMS students from U of T Talks and Raw Talk Podcast jointly hosted a Climate Change and Health Symposium on June 2, 2021 where experts discussed the far-reaching impact climate change has on science, communities, physical and mental health, as well as future perspectives on climate-related policy and healthcare.

By engaging community youth groups as partners, Youth-of-T Talks is working with young people to translate scientific information from the Symposium into accessible multimedia educational materials for younger audiences. Given the complexity of the subject matter, they plan to distill the information into infographics and short, interactive videos designed for three grade groups: juniors (grades 4-6), intermediates (grades 7-9), and seniors (grades 10-12). The Youth-of-T Talks materials will also include at-home activities for understanding individual carbon footprint for juniors, climate anxiety for intermediates, and climate activism for seniors.

The group includes Laura Best, Muzaffar Bhatti, Rachel Dadouch, Kimia Gannad-Zadeh, Jesse Knight, Swapna Mylabathula, Hannah Shuster-Hyman, Isis So, Sajeevan Sujanthan and Claire Wunker. The goal of this new initiative is to expose a young audience to the multifaceted science of climate change in an age-appropriate way and use education to empower them to partake in discussions of solutions for climate issues. Congratulations to the entire Youth-of-T Talks team!