Mel Silverman Mentorship Award

Mel Silverman
Dr. Mel Silverman

The Mel Silverman Mentorship Award was established to honour the contributions of former IMS Director Dr. Melvin Silverman. It is presented annually at Scientific Day to an IMS faculty member who has served as an outstanding mentor and role model for graduate students, in addition to making significant contributions to the IMS graduate program.

2022 Award Nomination:

To submit a  nomination for this award, students must complete an online nomination form As part of the nomination package, you will be asked to submit a letter of support as well as a copy of the candidate's curriculum vitae.

Deadline for submission: March 28, 2022

*Click here to see information about the 2021 award winner Dr. Tarek Rajji.

Previous Award Winners 

  • 2001: Dr. Sandra Black
  • 2002: Dr. Katherine Siminovitch
  • 2003: Dr. Gregory Downey
  • 2004: Dr. Carol Westall
  • 2005: Dr. Andras Kapus
  • 2006: Dr. Mingyao Liu
  • 2007: Dr. Philip Sherman
  • 2008: Dr. Derek van der Kooy
  • 2009: Dr. Sergio Grinstein
  • 2010: Dr. Ren-Ke Li
  • 2011: Dr. John Flanagan
  • 2012: Dr. Gary Remington
  • 2013: Dr. Anne Agur
  • 2014: Dr. Karen Davis
  • 2015: Dr. Freda Miller
  • 2016: Dr. Gary Rodin
  • 2017: Dr. Anne Bassett
  • 2018: Dr. Robert Levitan
  • 2019: Dr. Fei-Fei Liu
  • 2020: Dr. Isabelle Boileau
  • 2021: Dr. Tarek Rajji