Ori Rotstein Lecture in Translational Research

Dr. Ori Rotstein IMS

The Annual Ori Rotstein Lecture in Translational Research is an important event for the Institute of Medical Science - it is a time to celebrate the exceptional scientific contributions of our scientific community.

The Ori Rotstein Lecture in Translational Research was established in 2011 to mark Dr. Rotstein's 25-year engagement with the IMS. Dr. Rotstein is an IMS Alumnus, former IMS Director (2000-2010) and long-standing faculty member. Dr. Ori Rotstein is now the Vice President of Research and Innovation at Unity Health Toronto. He is also a Professor and Associate Chair of the Department of Surgery at the University of Toronto. We are honoured to have him come back and host this Annual Lecture each year.

The 11th Annual Ori Rotstein Lecture in Translational Research was held on November 2, 2021. It featured a Keynote Lecture by Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz, followed by an inspired panel discussion moderated by Dr. Ori Rotstein. The panelists included Drs. Atul Verma, Frank Rudzicz, Janet Smyle and Samantha Yammine. The panel discussion showcased accomplished speakers with interesting and unique career paths to encourage students to consider diverse career options in the medical sciences and beyond.

2021 Keynote Lecture:

Ori Rotstein Lecture Planning Committee Members

Student Co-Leads: Zoya Aamir and Sajeevan Sujanthan

Faculty Leads: Dr. Marianne Koritzinsky and Dr. Lucy Osborne

Staff Lead: Sobiga Vyravanathan

Graphic Design (posters): Rachel Liu

Video Editing: Rosa Sommer

Panelist Communications Team: Lisa Eunyoung Lee, Ergi Duli, Nicolette Stogios, Anisa Nazir and Angela Dela Cruz

Post-Event Survey: Muzaffar Bhatti 

General Role: Rami Ajaj, Avinash Mukkala and Kayvan Aflaki