Core Team

Academic Administrators



Dr. Mingyao Liu
Tel: 416-946-8286

The Director reports in all academic matters to the Deans of the SGS and the Faculty of Medicine.  The Director is ultimately responsible for all academic and administrative aspects of the IMS graduate program (including faculty and students), in accordance with University of Toronto policies and procedures. He is assisted by the Graduate Coordinators, IMS Committees, and the administrative staff, each of whom have special designated responsibilities.


Graduate Coordinators and Co-Leads, Strategic Priorities

The Graduate Coordinators are responsible for administration of the graduate program, including:

  • applications, admissions and enrollment procedures
  • approval of faculty on program and defense committees
  • nomination of students for awards, maintenance of current student award status and notification of award opportunities
  • dissemination of policy and procedures to students and faculty
  • meet with students as required on request       

Dr. Lucy Osborne                                                                    Dr. Vasundara Venkateswaran

Tel: 416-978-5012                                                                    Tel: 416-978-5012
Email:                                           Email:


Chair, Faculty Appointment Commitee


Dr. Karen Gordon

Dr. Karen Gordon is the Chair of the Faculty Appointment Committee in IMS. She is responsible for the review and processing of all applications for graduate faculty appointments and re-appointments to the Institute, making recommendations to the IMS Executive Committee and the Director.



Director, Summer Undergraduate Reasearch Program (SURP)


Dr. Ted Brown

The Director of the Summer Undergraduate Research Program is responsible for the development and implementation of the program.  In collaboration with members of the IMS faculty, the summer research program provides both domestic and international undergraduate students with the opportunity to experience a summer in a laboratory, working on a project in biomedical research.


Director, Professional Development and Alumni Engagement


Dr. Reinhart Reithmeier 

Dr. Reithmeier is leading on the development of graduate professional development (GPD) course modules. These modules will provide graduate students with transferable skills, professional network and experiential learning opportunities to facilitate their transition from school to work. He is also developing initiatives to expand alumni engagement in the IMS.




Director, International Development


Dr. Zhong-Ping Feng

Dr. Feng’s portfolio includes promoting international experiences to IMS graduate students, leading on international recruitment initiatives and developing international programs and partnerships with leading academic institutions.



Director, Curriculum


Nicole Harnett

Prof. Harnett’s portfolio includes chairing the IMS Curriculum Committee, overseeing curriculum development and evaluation and working with course directors and instructors.



Director, Master of Science in Biomedical Communications


Jodie Jenkinson
Tel: 905-569-4263




Committee Chair, Awards

Dr. Chung-Wai Chow

Chair of Graduate Admissions

Dr. Andrew Dimitrijevic


Administrative Staff

The Administrative Staff manage the day-to-day running of the IMS.

Kamila Lear, Business Officer
Tel: 416-978-8886
Human resources, finance, payroll, office management and special issues.




Hazel Pollard, Admissions Officer
Tel: 416-978-5012
Admissions, registration, GEMs Agreement, candidacy and program extensions.




Kaki Narh Blackwood, Student, Faculty Affairs and Awards Officer
Tel: 416-946-7143
Awards, faculty appointments and Program Advisory Committees (PACs).




Min Kim, Thesis and Examination Officer
Tel: 416-978-6696
Student qualifying, transfer, MSc and PhD defense examinations, thesis guidelines and program completion.




Sarah Topa, International Program & Partnerships Officer
International programs and activities, international student support, communications, website, student group support, alumni engagement and Temerty Medicine Connect.