Exit off canvas

IMS Faculty Dr. Beverley Orser elected to the U.S. National Academy of Medicine

By Sarah Topa

NOVEMBER 21, 2018

Via UofT News:

By: Heidi Singer

Beverley Orser and Zulfiqar Bhutta, both professors in the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Medicine, have been elected to the U.S. National Academy of Medicine – two of only 159 non-American members of the prestigious organization.

Orser, a professor of physiology and chair of the department of anesthesia, was chosen for her groundbreaking discoveries in anesthesia and memory impairment…

The academy’s 2,178 members provide independent advice and analysis to support public health and medicine in the United States. Members are elected on the basis of outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

The two medical researchers join five existing members from U of T, including President Emeritus David Naylor.

Orser, who is also co-director of research in the department of anesthesia at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, recently spoke with U of T’s Heidi Singer about the honour, and her research.

Read the rest of the article here.