Exit off canvas

IMS alumna and former faculty members appointed to the Order of Canada

By Sarah Topa

JULY 10, 2018

Created in 1967, the Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.

Congratulations to PhD Alumna Dr. Annette O’Connor for being named an Officer of the Order of Canada.


Annette M. O’Connor, O.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For her foundational leadership and pioneering research in the field of shared decision making, through which she has championed patient engagement in health care-related decisions.

Congratulations to former IMS faculty Drs. Allan Detsky, Mitchell Halperin and K. Wayne Johnston for being named Members of the Order of Canada.


Allan Steven Detsky, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For his advanced economic expertise on the Canadian health care system, notably with respect to clinical policy making through cost-effective enhancements to improve patient outcomes.

Mitchell Halperin, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For his renowned leadership within the field of nephrology as a clinician, researcher and educator.

K. Wayne Johnston, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For his foundational leadership as a surgeon, researcher and educator in the field of vascular surgery in Canada.