Exit off canvas

Congratulations to Dr. Karen Davis on being elected as President-Elect of the Canadian Pain Society

By Sarah Topa

JUNE 4, 2018

We would like to congratulate Dr. Karen Davis on being elected as President-Elect of the Canadian Pain Society. It is a 2 year term, after which she will assume the role of President for 2 years.

Dr. Davis is a translational neuroscientist in the field of pain and brain imaging. She is a Full Professor at the University of Toronto, and Head of the Division of Brain, Imaging and Behaviour – Systems Neuroscience at the Krembil Research Institute (UHN). She is a founding member of the University of Toronto Centre for the Study of Pain and sits on its executive committee.

Dr. Davis pioneered electrophysiological and brain imaging approaches to study mechanisms of pain. Her “dynamic pain connectome” concept has advanced understanding of individual factors to predict treatment outcomes and develop personalized pain management strategies. She has given over 170 invited lectures, published 165 papers with 15,000+ citations and an H-index of 65, and has held many leadership positions to advance research and education. She serves on the CIHR INMHA Institute Advisory Board, is a principle investigator of the Canadian Chronic Pain Network SPOR, and held editorial positions at Pain and other journals. She has also served as councillor of the International Association for the Study of Pain, chairs their fellowships/grants/awards committee, and spearheaded training to foster pain management leaders in developing countries.

Dr. Davis has a strong interest in education and knowledge translation and her TED-Ed video “How does your brain respond to pain?” has over 1.5 million views. Dr. Davis is also active in research ethics, created a graduate student oath, and chaired the IASP task force on the use brain imaging to diagnosis pain (Nature Reviews Neurology, 2017). Dr. Davis was a Mayday Pain and Society Fellow, was inducted into the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars, and her honours include the CPS mentorship award.