Exit off canvas


From the IMS50 Celebration Committee Co-Chairs:

We are thrilled to be celebrating the IMS 50th Anniversary milestone with all of you in the IMS community this year.

The IMS has changed a lot since 1968. In the last five decades we have grown to become the largest graduate unit in the Faculty of Medicine. Today we have more than 500 students and 600 faculty members.  The IMS has become the graduate unit of choice at UofT for MDs training as clinician investigators, and has played a vital role in promoting academic medicine at UofT.

From the discovery of stem cells by James Till and IMS Co-Founder Ernest McCulloch in 1961, to the performance of the first successful single lung transplant in 1983 by Joel Cooper and Griffith Pearson, our faculty have been at the forefront of medical scientific discovery, innovation and translation.

Our alumni and faculty have also taken on leadership roles in health care, research and medical education at UofT, across Canada and internationally. Dr. L. Trevor Young is the current Dean  and Dr. Catharine Whiteside is the former Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at UofT.  Dr. Robert Bell is the Deputy Minister of Health and Long-Term Care and Dr. Molly Shoichet was recently named Ontario’s first Chief Scientist. This is just to name a few.

Our students continue to be outstanding leaders and to make lasting impacts on medical science and human health.  In 2017 Katharine Schwenger, Pratiek Matkar, Christine Moon and Richard Foty received the Gordon Cressy Leadership Award for outstanding contributions to improving the world around them and inspiring others to do the same.

Join us this year as we reflect on the strides we have made to improve people’s lives through medical science.  Look forward with us to the possibilities that come from living in a connected and digital world, and the global impact medical science can have on graduate education.  And stand with us today as we establish new fundraising initiatives to support our students and develop new and exciting programs.

Together we will build stronger IMS communities, strengthening each other through research, mentorship and innovation.

Mingyao Liu, IMS Director and IMS50 Celebration Committee Co-Chair

Brenda Toner, IMS50 Celebration Committee Co-Chair












Photo by Mikaeel Valli