Exit off canvas

IMS Faculty Awards

The Mel Silverman Mentorship Award

Congratulations to Dr. Fei-Fei Liu winner of the 2019 Mel Silverman Mentorship Award.

Dr. Fei-Fei Liu is the Chief of the Radiation Medicine Program and Head of the Department of Radiation Oncology at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, as well as the Professor and Chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at the University of Toronto. Dr. Liu is also a Senior Scientist at the Princess Margaret Cancer Research Institute, holds the University of Toronto/Princess Margaret Peter and Shelagh Godsoe Chair in Radiation Medicine, and is the Chair of the University Health Network Medical Advisory Board.

The Mel Silverman Mentorship Award is presented to an IMS graduate faculty member who has served as an outstanding mentor and role model for graduate students, and who has contributed in a significant way to the IMS graduate program.

Good mentoring is a continuous process that takes time, patience and dedication, beginning at the very first meeting and continuing well beyond graduation. It involves mutual respect and trust and is an integral part of the collegial atmosphere at a university. A good mentor will challenge their students to achieve to the maximum of their potential, with sage advice, and good listening skills. Good mentors give students the freedom and confidence to succeed on their own merit.

Candidates for this award must be nominated by two IMS graduate students. Nominations include a detailed covering letter in support of the candidate, as well as a copy of the candidate’s curriculum vitae.

For more information, please contact sf.medscience@utoronto.ca

IMS Teaching Awards

The IMS Course Lecturer Award

Congratulations to Dr. Peter Jüni, winner of the 2019 Course Lecturer Award for his “Clinical Trials” lecture.

Peter Jüni is a clinical epidemiologist and general internist and the Director of the Applied Health Research Centre (AHRC) at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael’s Hospital. He holds a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Clinical Epidemiology of Chronic Diseases and is a Professor at the Department of Medicine and the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation at the University of Toronto.

Peter is known for his methodological work and for his clinical research on the management of cardiovascular and musculoskeletal disorders. He has published over 350 papers, which were cited more than 60,000 times and has been recognized as highly cited researcher since 2015.

This award is presented annually for a sustained contribution of three years or more to excellence in lecturing in an IMS graduate course.

The IMS Course Director Award

Congratulations to Dr. Adrian Crawley, winner of the 2019 IMS Course Director Award for his course MSC1087: Neuroimaging Methods using MRI.

Adrian Crawley received his BA Hons in Physics from the University of Cambridge in 1984 and his PhD in Medical Biophysics from the University of Toronto in 1988. After a postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard Medical School, he worked as an MRI physicist at the University of Calgary before returning to Toronto, where he took a research position at Toronto Western Hospital, focussing on the technical aspects of fMRI and cerebrovascular reactivity imaging.

In 2010, he offered to develop what became MSC1087: Neuroimaging Methods using MRI, which has been offered every other year since 2011. Adrian would like to thank Drs Karen Davis and Howard Mount for their encouragement and support and a huge thanks to the other lecturers (Drs Andrea Kassner, Nancy Lobaugh, Massieh Moayedi and Sofia Chavez) who have helped to make the course a success.

This award is presented for a sustained contribution of three years or more to excellence in the teaching, administration, and development of an IMS graduate course.

The IMS Module Director Award

Congratulations to Dr. Nadeeja Wijesekara, winner of the 2019 IMS Module Director Award for her “Neurodegenerative Diseases” module.

Nadeeja Wijesekara completed her PhD in the Department of Physiology at the University of Toronto (U of T). This was followed by post-doctoral studies at the University of British Columbia and at U of T. She is currently a research associate at the Tanz Centre for Research in Neurodegenerative Diseases, studying the link between neurodegenerative diseases and diabetes.

She was involved in the initiation of the IMS module of Neurodegenerative Diseases in 2016, and has offered it to students for the past 3 years and hopes to continue to do so in the years to come.

This award is presented for a sustained contribution of three years or more to excellence in the development, direction and facilitation of an IMS module.